South Asian Bar
Association of Chicago


Serving Chicagoland's South Asian Community

SABA Chicago Hosts Second Annual Judicial Reception

On April 11, 2019, SABA Chicago hosted its Second Annual Judicial Reception at the Hotel Allegro Kimpton. Over 200 people attended the reception including nearly 150 state and federal judges.

SABA Chicago President Chirag H. Patel offered the welcome remarks.

Rishi Agrawal introduced a panel of judges who other South Asian Judges stated mentored them on their path the judiciary. The honorees included: Justice Stuart Palmer, Ret.. Judge James Varga, Judge Raymond Jagielski, Judge Thomas E. Mueller, Ret., Judge Sidney I. Schenkier, Judge Grace Dickler, Judge Neera Walsh, Judge Rena Van Tine, Judge Sanjay Tailor, and Judge E. Kenneth Wright.

Ankur Srivastava introduced the first honoree, United States Magistrate Judge Sunil R. Harjani. Judge Harjani is the first South Asian magistrate judge in the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois.

SABA Chicago President-Elect Aileen Bhandari introduced the second honoree, Illinois Supreme Court Justice Mary Jane Theis. Justice Mary Jane Theis is a long standing supporter of SABA Chicago with special ties to the South Asian Community.